Our Board

Mrs Norma Sinte


Norma retired in 2019 from Queen’s University Belfast where she was Director of Development and Alumni Relations. She joined Queen’s in 2000 as Head of Corporate and Major Gifts Fundraising and was appointed to the post of Director in 2008. In her role at Queen’s she also managed two senior voluntary Boards: the Queen’s Foundation and the Friends of Queen’s USA. Norma wants to help the Society retain its innovative and entrepreneurial outlook and build on its philanthropic heritage.

Ms Angila Chada


Currently Executive Director of Springboard, Angila has extensive experience of working across and within communities in developing capacity, building peace and promoting an appreciation of diversity. In 2011 Angila established the Raj Darshna Foundation and in 2013 she became a Beacon Fellow following her award as a Philanthropy Advocate. Previously she served on the Belfast City Council’s Good Relations Partnership, on the Board of Terra Nova Productions, an intercultural theatre company. She also served as a Charity Commissioner with the Charity Commission for N Ireland and School Governor for Belfast Royal Academy.

Mr David Watters


David was a founding partner of McClure Watters, formed in 1989. Under David’s leadership the firm grew into one of the largest accounting and advisory firms in Northern Ireland. David has sat on the boards of many local companies and charities for over thirty years. David has a wide range of commercial and governance experience obtained through participation at an executive and advisory level in a great number of sectors. He was a Trustee of the Northern Ireland based The Spirit of 2012 Trust and a non-executive director of the Northern Ireland Guardian Ad Litem Agency. David is currently Chair of the Belfast Charitable Society.

Mr Les Allamby


Les Allamby is current Chief Commissioner of the Human Rights Commission. Les is a solicitor and formerly the Director of the Law Centre (Northern Ireland). He was Chair of an Advisory group to Human Rights Commission on proposals for economic and social rights within a Bill of Rights for Northern Ireland. From 2015-2018 he chaired the Commonwealth Forum for National Human Rights Institutions. He was also the inaugural Chair of the Social Security Standards Committee for Northern Ireland. He was also a member of CAJs executive committee and a founder member of the Children’s Law Centre.

Mr Colin Graham


Colin is a documentary film maker; the Chair of Digital Art Studios Belfast and a Main Board Director of GRAHAM Holdings Ltd. Colin became involved with the Belfast Charitable Society to help the Society protect its philanthropic heritage and to ensure it remained relevant in today’s difficult social and economic environment. He also wanted to help and encourage a new era of philanthropic generosity.

Ms Diane Graham


Diane is the Matron and Chief Executive with operational responsibility at the Ulster Independent Hospital. She got involved with the Charitable Society because of her expertise in the provision of care for the elderly. Her experience and skills in healthcare was considered extremely beneficial to the Charitable Society. Diane wishes to continue with the altruistic values and spirit of helping which have motivated the Belfast Charitable Society since 1774 when the Poor house and hospital opened to provide care for the disadvantaged.

Dr Margaret Ward


Margaret Ward is Honorary Senior Lecturer in History at Queen’s University, Belfast. In 2000 she became assistant director of the think-tank Democratic Dialogue and in 2005 she became Director of the Women’s Resource and Development Agency (WRDA) where she worked tirelessly until her retirement at the end of 2013. While Director of WRDA, on behalf of Reclaim the Agenda, Margaret led the project ‘Belfast Women’s History Tour’. Margaret is a board member of Libraries NI, a former Trustee of the National Museums Northern Ireland and a former member of the board of the Consumer Council NI.